Quick Thoughts – Project Re:LINK and the Granblue Fantasy Animé

Recently, there were trailers for two Granblue Fantasy spin-offs in the works: A 3D, multiplayer, action game called Granblue Fantasy Project Re:LINK; and a second trailer for the upcoming Granblue Fantasy animé.

Project Re:LINK

It’s being developed by PlatinumGames, which seems to be relatively well regarded for developing games like Bayonetta and The Wonderful 101 (the core staff was also responsible for the critically acclaimed Ōkami before Capcom shut down Clover Studio). To be honest, I’ve never played a game by them before because 3D action games aren’t my thing. Still, I’m sure they can do a fine job on this adaptation.

It is a bit neat to see the world of Granblue Fantasy realized in 3D. I wonder if they’re going for a Monster Hunter-like experience.

Granblue Fantasy The Animation

I’m not sure what this is–an OVA? One cours TV animé? From what I’ve heard, it’s airing at the beginning of 2017. Not a whole lot shown here other than the fact that Gran is the protagonist. I must confess, I’m a little bit disappointed the main character isn’t Djeeta.

According to Cygames’ stats, a clear majority of players use Djeeta instead of Gran in-game. Also, Gran is already the protagonist in the Granblue Fantasy manga, so why not try something different for the animé? Well, I hope Djeeta shows up in the animé adapation in some form or another.

Even though Granblue Fantasy’s story is kinda forgettable (the story quest format of ‘go from A to B, then B to C, fight monsters!’ constrains it), I feel optimistic about this. Rage of Bahamut: Genesis, an animé adapted from a different mobile game also developed by Cygames, was surprisingly quite good; and I enjoyed it a lot. So while I’d normally feel skeptical about a mobile game animé adapation, I know it’s been done very well before and I think it can be pulled off again.

I’ll look forward to an influx of new players when the animé airs.

This entry was posted in Granblue Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

